Charles Babbage's Foundation for Computer Science—Primary Sources

by Martin F. Johansen, 2013

This is a list of Babbage's works on the fundamentals of computer science. The three stages are works related to his main designs of machines of increasing complexity. Works marked with * are a subset of the works I recommend for a less comprehensive study.

Relevant Background and Methodology

Stage 1: The Difference Engine (approx. 1810–1822)

Stage 2: The "Circular" Difference Engine (approx. 1822–1824)

Mechanical Notation

Stage 3: The Analytical Engine (approx. 1824–1871)

Books that Include the Above Articles

Copyright © 2013, Martin F. Johansen